Skip to content


I have been privileged to advise a select band of postgraduates.



Dai Quoc Nguyen, PhD. (2021) (associate supervisor).
Chang Wei Tan, PhD. (2019) (primary supervisor), now at Monash. [ thesis ] Recipient of the Mollie Holman Medal.
Sameen Maruf, PhD. (2019) (associate supervisor), now at Monash.
Jiangning Song, PhD. (2018) (primary supervisor), now at Monash University. [ thesisRecipient of the Mollie Holman Medal.
Thilak L Fernando, PhD. (2017) (primary supervisor), now at DataDisca. [ thesis ]
Benjamin Porebski, PhD. (2016)  (associate supervisor), now at MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology. [ thesis ]
Khalid Mahmood, PhD (2011)  (joint supervisor), now at The University of Melbourne.
Fei Zheng, PhD (2008). [ thesis ], now at ANZ.
James Pearce, DTech (2005) (associate supervisor), now at Suncorp Group.
Damian Brain, PhD (2004), now at National Australia Bank. [ thesis ]
Ying Yang, PhD (2003), now at Australian Taxation Office. [ thesis ]
Bark Cheung Chiu, PhD (1999).
Doug Newlands, PhD (1998).
Phil Smith, PhD (1999), now retired.
Simon Yip, PhD (1995).
Mark Kuzmycz, PhD (1997), now at Axichain.


Shane Butler, MIT (Research) (2006), now at Telstra.  [ Honours thesis ]
Shiying Huang, MIT (Research) (2005), now at Google. [ thesis ]